Young people who commite crimes should be treated in the same way as adult. To what extent are you agree or disagree?

In recent years, crime rates have increased among young people, happening in different ways. Many people support the idea that young offenders should be punished like adults if they commit crimes. However, I personally disagree with this opinion for several reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, young people’s brains are still developing, and they will have difficulty making decisions. Sometimes, they may make important decisions without fully understanding the consequences, and they may not think about the results. Punishing them like adults ignores these factors. Another reason why they should not be treated the same as mature individuals is that they are very young and should be given a chance. Many young criminals may change their lifestyle and find the right path if they are supported by their parents or the government.In my opinion, these reasons provide enough justification for not punishing children like adults.

On the other hand, prisons that keep dangerous criminals may be harmful to young people. They may even learn new crimes and become addicted to drugs. As a result, they might commit illegal activities when they are released. In addition, young people should be taught by specialized teachers or their parents and placed in special schools instead of prisons when they commit crimes. Many of them engage in illegal activities due to pressure or difficult living conditions, and they believe that stealing is the only way to escape these situations. I think the measures mentioned above will be an effective solution if implemented by organizations.

In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea that young individuals should be punished the same way as mature people due to the reasons I discussed above.