📝 TASK 2: Despite better education , some adults are unable to write and read. What are the disadvantages people are having? What should the governments do to avoid this?

Although access to education has been enhanced in the past few decades, there are still adults who cannot read or write. Illiteracy can often result in lower quality of life, forcing these individuals to take blue-collar jobs and exposing them to more deception as they may not process information effectively. The solution is to make education compulsory, by focusing more on tackling absenteeism.

Learning hard and soft skills often involves being literate, meaning people have to excel when they need to write or read. However, those who lack this basic ability may not stand out in the highly competitive job market of the 21st century. This inferiority often leaves illiterate adults no other choice than to do the most physically demanding and low-paid jobs. As a result, they cannot enjoy any progress in their career, relying on a blue-collar job for a living.

The other obvious disadvantage illiterate adults often face is the inability to cope with written information. Since they cannot understand what’s shown on paper or online, they may ask for help, but this help may not always be beneficial. In other words, illiterate adults are easier to deceive, making them more likely to suffer from fraud. This can significantly affect their lives in many ways, as they depend on others when it comes to processing information.

The most effective solution to reduce illiteracy among people is to make sure absenteeism is tackled properly. Quite often, there is access to education, but supervision is not rigorous enough, meaning there is too much informality in school education. If every student’s attendance is tracked effectively, with punishments available for those who continuously skip classes, there may be more active participation in school activities. If the country’s absenteeism rates are extremely high, the government should use additional force by forming a new committee that focuses solely on student attendance.

In conclusion, life of an illiterate individual may be more economically challenging and more dangerous as a whole. To make sure fewer people are illiterate, absenteeism has to be met with highly strict measures, helping to keep younger people in school.