1.Going overseas for university study is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulties a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

It is often argued that going to overseas for higher study is a stimulating prospect for many people. However, it has some drawbacks so that it is better to stay home. I strongly agree with this view, as it creates many difficulties for students to adopt living and studying in a different culture.

One prime reason why this tendency is damaging is that language barrier. If people are not good at local language, communications become challenging both academic and social situation. As a result, people may face challenges understanding lectures or interacting with others.

In addition, cultural adjustment issues can be another difficulty. As a result, people may experience cultural shock and discomfort in different environment. So that for many people, it is better to stay in home rather then going to abroad.

Last but not least, high cost of living is another problem for overseas people, as students often need to spend more money on accommodation, rent, and transport. Thus, many students face financial pressure. For example, living expenses is much higher in their develop country than their other country.

In conclusion, while going to overseas for study purpose is a great experience, it can also lead to language barrier, cultural adjustment issues and high cost of living.