Some believe that pets should stay at home at all times, while others feel they should be allowed outside the home. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over whether pets should always be kept indoors. In my view, while animals being at home may ensure safety, it is still important to let them experience nature from time to time.

On one hand, unlike the outdoors, at home pets can conduct their daily activities safely. When stepping into the outside world pets are exposed to a range of dangers, such as traffic and wild health. However, while they may be physically safer inside the house, that is not the case for an animal’s wellbeing. Research conducted by the Roanapur Institute of Biology revealed that pets who have weekly access to nature usually have 17% longer lives than those always indoors.

On the other hand, it is important to realize that pets are domesticated animals. Hence, they have a biological need to see the wilderness, as well a psychological desire to do so. Indeed, pets not having access to the outsides is a major cause of various health issues, including both physical and mental ones. Those pets that always stay at home are 34% more likely to experience depression, stress or other mental distress, alongside having more physiological issues as a direct result of the lack of movement in comparison to animals open to the wild.

In conclusion, I believe that pets should be allowed to go outside, since even though there are risks involved, it is their biological need.