11) Most school offers some type of physical education program to their students. Why is it important? Should physical education classes be required or optional?

Physical education programs are having paramount importance in a school curriculum, therefore, there have been a number of opinions, that physical education should be compulsory because of its mental and physical health benefits for a student. However, some oppose it. I will discuss both types of opinions before a conclusion.

To begin with, undoubtedly, it has been proved that physical activities are part and parcel of healthy life. Students who are exposed to these types of physical exercises can increase their stamina and resistance power. According to medical science, the Strong immune system helps to prevent certain diseases like diabetes, obesity, and indigestion. It not only improves the stamina of the body but also makes one mentally strong. Besides that, A recent study has revealed that indulgence in these activities does not let the students sneak time for electronic gadgets.

Furthermore, physical programs are very helpful in inculcating the values of team spirit, cooperation, and coexistence. Therefore, the array of benefits makes it an inevitable part of the school’s curriculum…

On the other hand, there are situations and certain circumstances when a physical program needs to be sacrificed. Students with certain disabilities and illnesses should not be forced to be part of this. Their impairments prevent them from being active and physically enthusiastic. Indeed, there is the requirement to have it optional but it is also imperative to understand that they should be equipped with any other educational aspects like computer numeracy and soft skills.

In conclusion, physical education should not be optional since it provides physical and mental growth to a student but the circumstances of impaired candidates should be kept in view.