11) Most school offers some type of physical education program to their students. Why is it important? Should physical education classes be required or optional?

Physical fitness is the key to live a long and healthy life. Hence, nowadays institutions hold all kinds of physical education programs for their pupils. These programs are almost crucial, as they educate young minds about the importance of being physically fit. In my opinion, these classes should be mandatory for all the students.

To begin with, it is a well known fact that exercising regularly plays a major role in keeping a healthy body and a sound mind, because physical workout is responsible for releasing endorphin, which aids in reducing stress. Therefore, it is very beneficial for people to exercise on a daily basis. Moreover, according to recent data, almost eighty percent of young population is obese. This has increased the risk of cardiac diseases in adults causing heart attacks at the age of thirty which used to be very unusual before the year 2000. These are some reasons why physical education is so important in schools.

Furthermore, schools should make it necessary for all students to study physical education. This is because, although many children have an interest in sports and athletics, not all of them get to participate and some just do not see the point as they have their interest in science or arts. So, to educate them about the necessity and the benefits of being physically fit and even making them participate in daily physical activities, physical education is a must. For instance, for many years now, schools in Tokyo mandate each student to study physical education which has resulted in eradication of obesity in the state, resulting in the lowest rates of heart disease in the young populations as well as the adults.

In conclusion, physical fitness is essential to lead a healthy life and to achieve this goal all students should be required to study physical education programs provided by their schools. This will definitely mentor them to participate in daily activities and learn the importance of being physically fit.