11) Most school offers some type of physical education program to their students. Why is it important? Should physical education classes be required or optional?

Nowadays sports activities are included in most of schools’ curricula. While it is important for students’ health, some believe it is not supposed to be essential and students must be able to choose whether to engage in sports or not.

To begin with, Physical activities have a significant impact on individuals. Firstly, when adolescents are encouraged to participate in sports, they will develop a healthier lifestyle. For instance, individuals who are interested in sports like football or basketball are most likely to maintain a healthy diet. Which will have a positive impact on their overall well-being. Moreover, participation in sports teams would bring a sense of community, as a result, it will enhance their interpersonal skills which are important for their future.

However, some young people may prefer to engage in mental activities rather than physical ones for several reasons. They may be interested in developing cognitive skills such as art, poetry, and music. Another reason for this, many people may be intimidated by their body shapes and might be unable to practice due to health issues. For example, individuals who suffer from obesity might be shy and afraid of bullying or being judged by their peers. Schools in this case should give the freedom of choice for their students and offer a variety of different non-educational activities such as music and art classes.

In conclusion, while physical activities offer noticeable benefits in terms of better and healthier life options, many people might find other activities more interesting. A balanced approach by making sports not mandatory and offering other activities would be the best solution to ensure students are not forced into something against their will, while still benefiting from the school curriculum.