14) Some people say that the Government should break down all the historic buildings and replace them with modern buildings. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the significant increase of the world population is leading to overcrowding and the lack of space for modernization is becoming a crucial issue. Therefore, there is a belief that old buildings should be converted into up-to-date structures by the government. From my perspective, I partially advocate this viewpoint and some justifications for my stance will be elaborated in this essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that demolishing old structures enhances the space required for infrastructure development. In fact, a certain area in both the city and the suburb is occupied by degraded buildings which look gloomy, seldom function effectively and are often too costly to repair. Hence, removing these constructions contributes to modernization as well as improves urban landscapes. Moreover, some decrepit houses can be dangerous for the locals. Because of the poor quality, collapses are seen as an inevitable threat to households and people nearby.

On the other hand, some ancient buildings play an essential role in a nation’s culture and economy. First, historical structures preserve the memory of the nation’s past flourish, providing invaluable documentaries and evidence for studying and strengthening the residents’ patriotism. For instance, the Independence Palace located in Ho Chi Minh city witnessed the victory that ended 30 years of arduous and heroic war for the Vietnamese people, which is now preserved as a national relic with many scholars visiting. Second, the nation’s economy can be improved by constructions recognized as relics or world heritage. Being as tourist attractions, these buildings provide great income for the local people and the tourism, increasing the GDP of the country.