2.In recent years, childhood obesity has become a serious problem in many countries. What are the main causes of this? What are the effects on children's health and future development?

In recent decades, obesity during childhood has become a pressing issue in many nations receiving a great deal of attention from the public. Apparently, frequent exposure to food with high sugar content and lacking parental supports are the main contributors to this phenomenon.

The improved living standards has inadvertently contributed to the rise of childhood obesity. One of the most powerful drivers of this rise is that children are overexposed to detrimental content on social media platforms where consuming fast food and sugary beverages is normalized. For example, many cartoon movies, sponsored by fast-food brands, show their characters eating junk food as a way to increase sales figures. This implies that it is totally normal for youngsters to consume high-calorie food and sugary drinks. Another major contributor is the lack of parental support and advice. Nowadays, many parents are so busy that they cannot make meals for their children. Instead, they often allow their children to eat any food they like, indirectly increasing the likelihood of childhood obesity.

The effects of this phenomenon are detrimental on not only individual level but also societal level. On a personal level, obesity can gradually widens the gap between parents and their children. Overweight children often develop low self-esteem and may feel reluctant to engage in family outdoor activities , reducing opportunities for communication. For instance, obese children often feel embarrassed to attend family gatherings, causing them to become more detached from their parents over time. On a societal level, as this situation continues, youngsters could develop worse health conditions,ranging from chronic issues such as cardiovascular and joint and bone problems to mental well-being problems, especially depression and anxiety. This not only affects them negatively but also places a burden on governments. The growing number of young obese patients necessitate medical support, which requires enormous expenses. This places the most serious burden on governments as they need to allocate more funding to tackle this issue.

In conclusion, the emergence of childhood obesity could be attributed to frequent exposure to negative content on social medias and lacking support and advice from their parents. Its consequences are equally alarming, from undermining family bonds to triggering severe health problems that place a heavy burden on healthcare systems. Unless urgent action is taken, this trend is likely to continue deteriorating both individual well-being and societal development.