3. Art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression as its culture. Do you think it’s important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Art plays a vital role in society’s showcase of its culture, as the freedom of expression enables artists from different cultural backgrounds to render their thoughts creatively through artworks. However, while I agree that the crucial impact of art education on child development is recognisable, I think that school syllabi should not outweigh the benefits of art and be adjusted.

Firstly, the reinforcement of cognition towards surroundings via creating art boosts the development of self-awareness. Observation is pivotal in art creation. By scrutinising the details, children’s interpretation of the world elaborates and the perception of the individual gets sharpened. This process is especially crucial in the acknowledgment of one’s uniqueness, and art creation encourages children to present their thoughts in diverse and dynamic ways, fostering their capabilities to observe and interact with the outside world, subsequently enhancing their cognitive and social development.

However, individual differences in innate talent exist, increasing the frequency of art learning does not optimise the education system. School curriculum should be designed for the wholesome development of all students. Despite art lessons, other subjects are equally important to equip students with both hard and soft skills for their future. For instance, mathematics and physical education classes can help develop students’ logical thinking skills and athletic skills, respectively. Multifaceted approaches in schools are essential to provide comprehensive support for all students.

In conclusion, the primary responsibility of educational institutes is the all-round development of students. Although there are benefits of art creation in education such as enhancement of cognition and social skills development, schools should arrange a large spectrum of courses for students to develop their strengths at their own pace.