3) Nowadays many students go traveling or working for a year after graduating from high school and before starting university. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

These days, the majority of high-school graduates choose to travel or enter the workforce for one year before pursuing higher education. I believe the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages because, although there is a risk of delaying education or not returning to study,students can gain valuable work experience, become more independent and culturally aware during this period.

A key drawback of taking a gap year and traveling or working is the possibility of postponing further education or never resuming academic studies. Individuals in the workforce often become financially independent and may wish to carry on climbing the corporate ladder. Similarly, those who spend a year traveling may become eager to pursue their passion for exploring new places. In both cases, they may ultimately decide not to return to university. For example, a photographer who takes a gap year in order to pursue his hobby may believe that university education is unnecessary as he can earn income by doing his beloved job. However, life and work experiences that a student can gain by working or traveling are priceless.

Experiences gained from working or traveling for a year before pursuing higher education is highly beneficial, as they encourage young people to be more independent and develop cultural awareness. By being an employer, students can develop practical skills and improve employability, likewise by traveling, students can soak up different cultures and be aware of various perspectives. Exposure to such experiences may simplify acquiring knowledge at the higher institution, as they can relate academic concepts to real-life situations. For instance, student who intends to be a geographer and has a chance to explore different continents for a year, can master both theoretical and practical knowledge.

In conclusion, although taking a gap year may delay academic studies and increase the likelihood that some students will not return to university, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. The opportunity to gain practical experience, develop independence, and broaden cultural awareness makes this trend beneficial for most young people.