Some people say that the government should pay money for large pieces of art, like sculptures for public display in outdoor places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that governments should invest more money in large artworks such as outdoor sculptures. While public art can bring cultural and economic benefits, I only partly agree with this view because there are more urgent issues that deserve greater financial support.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why the government should support public art. First, sculptures and other forms of art significantly enhance the appearance of the city, As a result, the city become more attractive and visually appealing not only for the residents but also for visitors.Furthermore, some artworks often reflect the nation’s cultural, traditions value, and even historical events, which helps preserve national identity for future generations. For example, famous sculptures often attract both domestic and international tourists, leading to higher spending on accommodation, food, and other services.: restaurants, hotels or souvenir shops.

However, I do not believe that public art should receive priority over essential public services. Since government budgets are limited, more funding should be directed toward essential sectors such as healthcare and education, which immediately have a direct impact on people’s quality of life. In addition, the money should be spent on urgent social issues including solving the problems of poverty, unemployment, or building public infrastructure before spending on art projects. Therefore, while funding for art projects is beneficial, this is acceptable only when necessary services are adequately funded.

In conclusion, although public art can enhance cities, preserve cultural heritage and bring economic benefits, I believe it should not be prioritized over essential public services. Governments should support art projects only after addressing more urgent social issues.