Some people say that the government should pay money for large pieces of art, like sculptures for public display in outdoor places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that authorities and governments should invest funds in artworks, such as monuments or public exhibitions. I believe that this is a great way to protect traditional values and cultural diversity, but it also needs to be considered in some situations.

To begin with, it is apparent that the construction of sculptures and public displays requires significant resources, such as a workforce and time, which could be used to address problems in other aspects of life. Paintings and monuments require considerable effort to preserve and maintain their quality. This often means money should be spent on healthcare, education, or infrastructure, especially for countries that are struggling with poverty or scarcity. For example, the cost of a single large sculpture could build several schools or hospitals in developing countries. Therefore, governments must balance art funding with essential public services.

On the contrary, one of the compelling reasons to justify the stand of art funding is its significant role in preserving the cultural value and spiritual life of the citizens. Iconic sculptures, like the Statue of Liberty in the USA or Christ the Redeemer in Brazil, exemplify how art fosters national pride, ensuring faith in the residents and people around the world, contributing to a cultural identity and aesthetic appeal. Additionally, some countries are profit-driven by tourist attractions like the exhibitions or monuments. By publicizing art installations, it effectively boosts the local businesses and job opportunities in demand.

Taking everything into consideration, notwithstanding public art has significant cultural diversity and traditional value, I am convinced that governments should prioritize funding on urgent matters in lieu of focusing on maintaining artworks.