While technology helps people communicate more easily, it may reduce face-to-face communication skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, most individuals communicate through digital devices, reducing face-to-face interactions. Although this trend has some drawbacks, I believe its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are some clear benefits related to forms of everyday communication. First of all, modern devices can help people communicate instantly regardless of geographical distance, helping them maintain relationships with their family members and friends, especially in urgent situations. For example, international students are likely to exchange academic information and stay in touch with their families in their country. Furthermore, modern technology allows workers to handle their workload remotely and exchange information with colleagues more efficiently. These mean that tasks are completed quickly and individuals have access to many employment opportunities. Therefore, this development brings both convenience and productivity in everyday life.

On the other hand, this trend also brings certain drawbacks regarding the reduction of face-to-face interaction. If people spend much time on online platforms, they will spend less time on family meals or friend gatherings, which is likely to reduce connection with each other. This can make relationships gradually weaken over time. Besides, immersing themselves in virtual communication can make people less confident in real life. Unlike face-to-face communications, online calls or chats have more time to come up with their exciting ideas before responding, helping avoid the pressure of real conversation and eye contact. Consequently, people gradually avoid real communications with others.

In conclusion, although communicating by the modern devices has disadvantages related to its dependence and lack of reality, I believe that it has more positive impacts, not only immediate communications, but also maintaining relationships.