Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that is money could be batter spent elswhere

People believe that governments are wasting money on the arts because this money could be better invested elsewhere. I strongly agree with this view as the arts often serve as a mere cultural entertainment and rarely contribute to society.

There are some reasons why governments should not invest heavily in the arts not only because the arts serve as a cultural entertainment for people but also because few people are interested in them. If governments splash out on the arts, essential sectors such as healthcare may lack financial support and struggle to buy modern equipment and technology, ultimately leading to medical problems. As a result, many people can barely use medical services, and they may suffer from preventable diseases, which in turn gives rise to social problems. At a time when the arts are prioritized on a global scale, other essential sectors like healthcare cannot treat patients well let alone cure them due to a lack of governmental support.

The governments should allocate funding to essential sectors like education and healthcare as they contribute significantly to society. As long as education and healthcare are sufficiently funded, they are more likely to provide people with a great service and improve the quality of their lives. As a result, people can learn productively and easily recover from diseases, which in turn enhances their mental health and overall well-being.

For instance, education equips people with transferable skills and practical knowledge while healthcare provides a great service for patients, thereby improving overall productivity and well-being.

People think that the governments are excessively spending money on the arts in that this money could be better allocated elsewhere. I believe that the governments should invest in healthcare and education instead of the arts because they benefit people more than the arts and make great contributions to society and future growth.