Compared to the past, more people are now trying to learn a foreign language to increase their chances of landing a better job in their native country or having better opportunities to work abroad. To what extent do you agree with this point of view? Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Analyzing this statement, that offers a perspective on why more people are now trying to learn a foreign language, I have to say that I totally agree with both reasons.

On the one hand, a wide range of people are trying to increase their chances of landing a better job in their native country, for several reasons such as economic crises that cannot be solved in the short term, mostly in Latin America, unemployment or simply a desire to improve their way of living. Also, many people choose to stay in their country despite economic issues and want to invest in their development. Thus, learning a new language increases the chances to get a higher paying job and, most importantly, allows individuals to work for foreign companies that usually offer better working conditions. For example, it is common that IT professionals work for US companies or offer their services abroad.

On the other hand, some people are just trying to learn a foreign language in order to have better opportunities to work abroad. Following the idea expressed above about higher salaries, the countries that usually offer these opportunities are primarily English, Chinese or Norwegian speaking. I believe that everyone will agree that learning one or more of these languages is essential for anyone who wants to avoid a low-paying job abroad.

To summarize, while some people prefer to stay in their home country, others choose to explore new experiences abroad. Both options are valid as long as they are personal decisions. Anyway, I strongly believe that knowing a new language allows people not only to improve their way of leaving but also to stay in contact with people around the world. However, learning a new language remains a privilege of the upper class.