3. Social media does more harm than good. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Using social media is prevalent in this face-paced changing world, but it is deemed to have negative impacts in our society. However, I partially agree that it is predominantly detrimental because it provides several benefits.

In terms of advantages of using social media, it enhances global connectivity. There are numerous social digital platforms like Facebook or Discord and such platforms make the world more accessible. People are brought together through community groups in these apps which fosters communication and collaboration. Additionally, flexible tools have become available, developing the way we keep in touch with each other. Regardless of any geographical distances, it gives us ability to face-to-face conversations as well as instantaneous responses.

On one hand, having an excessive use of social media can accelerate drawbacks for individuals. One primary issue is that it can affect self-esteem especially among adolescents. They are constantly exposed to unrealistic perception of beauty and success which can result in pressure due to look perfect or live a certain lifestyle. Moreover, connecting virtually can cause a decline in real world social skills. It can lead to isolation and estrangement in long terms owing to a lack of verbal cues.

To summarise, social media has become a bane of our society which contributes to harmful effects. Nevertheless, it also offers various impacts so responsible usage is key to maximizing its upsides while minimizing its disadvantages.