A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a possitive or a negative development?

In this status quo, several languages are by far more prevalent in many countries whereas the opposite was true for some remaining languages. While acknowledging that this tendency may cause a primary detrimental impact, I hold a firm belief that this trend engenders a positive shift to the global scope to some extent.

On the one hand, there is a primary repercussion arises from the drop in the usage of certain languages. The predominant effect is the loss of the linguistic diversity in the world. Unequivocally, communities would lose parts of their cultural traditions such as songs, myths and poetry which are not easily translated into another language. Not only does this trend affect the survival of their mother tongues but its cultures are also threatened. For instance, some unique languages that are spoken by ethnic groups might vanish if their last descendants died, leading to the disappearance of their cultures and conventions. Coupled with this, the progressive erasure of global cultural variety could occur if all countries replace their native tongues with the same one. To illustrate, certain countries like Australia, New Zealand, the US and so on opt English as their first language in lieu of possessing their own one. Hence, it is demanding for others to identify their disparities, resulting in unexpected confusions.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the rise of certain languages would render many thorough merits. Chief of this is that cross-cultural communication can become easier among people of all nationalities. By this I mean, only by centering on the global languages can they adapt almost everywhere in the world. For example, English is utilized in 53 nations and it has become a mandatory subject in many places, fostering appropriate linguistic skills for individuals as global citizens. Secondly, that people master a ubiquitous language paves the way for them to have more chances in their work as well as academic journey. Obviously, being proficient in a specific language that is most frequently used assists human to have a prospective future with well-paid occupations as well as opportunities to work in some international enterprises or study abroad.

In conclusion, from all the aforementioned points, I reaffirm that less widely spread languages need to be preserved and the rest ones should be boosting in order to have a better life.