A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a possitive or a negative development?

It is a well-known fact that in some nations, the use of certain languages is spreading while that of others is fast dwindling. Despite some obvious benefits associated with this trend, it is not without flaws.

On the one hand, there are two primary advantages to this phenomenon. First of all, it is a result of globalization, more people are learning the languages of world-leading economics, therefore this is a greater overall increase in global GDP. Besides, being bilingual boosts employment opportunities for prospective employees can bridge the gap between two different cultures and economies. Like for instance, English and Chinese are the languages of choice today, and fluency is a skill sought after by international employers due to they hope to do business in both English and Chinese speaking countries.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of the rise of this case can not be denied. To start with, it is a belief that language is the foundation of culture so if people can not communicate, they can not form a collective identity, which leads the decline of a language would also mean the decline of a culture. For example, the Welsh language is barely spoken because the English sought to replace their culture following an invasion, consequently learning Welsh has been considered an important way to preserve culture for many young Welsh people. An additional downside is that certain popular languages may become extinct due to overuse. When a language is no longer actively spoken in daily life or passed down through generations, it is deemed endangered. Using Ireland as an example, the government has mandated for many years that Irish schoolchildren learn Irish Gaelic and has promoted speaking it; nonetheless, despite these efforts, the language is still seen as fragile.

In conclusion, despite the fact that there are numerous advantages to globalization from the dominance of particular major languages. However, as a component of their national heritage, the governments and citizens of every nation and location should collaborate in managing the preservation and conservation of their original tongue.