A government role is only to provide defense capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community. Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The role and responsibility of the government in the needs of its citizens has been the matter of discussion and debate. Skill, knowledge, infrastructure, education, and health have been important parameters in deciding who will provide what goods and services to the nation’s population, and this has led to many policies being debated. What are the views on both sides of the tables?

It is a well documented fact that India is a mixed economy, wherein the public and private sectors coexist. Firstly, government is a steady going sector, For instance, developing infrastructure like, roads, building, water supplies government will take lot of time. However, public sector also look after the well-being of the public such as, employment generation, limited working hours, competitive salaries, comprehensive medical benefits, and a good work-life balance. Moreover, now government is allowing private sector to entre the market as it bring innovative solutions and efficient project management practices to the table. However, government has not gave them full authority as some category are still under government such as, chemicals and fertilizers, defence, and coal & mine.

On the other end of the spectrum, private is speedy going sector, For instance, where government takes three to four year to build a flyover. Private will build it in less than half year than government. Moreover, private sector are better than government, For instance, Public amenities will be well-maintained, speedy infrastructure development, good transport services. However, as we know everything has its own limitations such as, Concentration of Black Money, lack of job security, Long Working Hours, and High Work Pressure.

All in all, we may conclude like in all things, one must maintain balance between there responsibilities towards their citizens. While both of these carried to extreme role and position, a middle path seems to be appropriate. As Indian economy is mixed economy wherein the public and private sectors coexist. “Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much” means working together mutually to achieve success.