A highly competitive environment is believed to be good for both studying and working. Drawing on this, what is your opinion on the benefits and drawbacks of such an environment?

The competition is known to be one of the main success drivers in labour market and education. This essay will demonstrate how competitive environment significantly influx the lifestyles of people, whilst acknowledging that there are some drawbacks of such social pattern the essay will argue that the strenuous and stressful atmosphere can help people achieve their goals.

One of the main advantages of being a part of competitive environment is improved self-esteem. Being around hard-working and confident people develops a human’s inner strength and helps to overcome any obstacles at work and any educational organizations. People with sufficient amount of skills tend to reach leaders and by doing this they get new knowledge and experience. Recent studies show that the rating system in the universities when best students may get any award or compensation positively influences the level of education of the postgraduates.

However, working or studying with elements of competition can lead to some worrying issues. One of the most serious is a scope of problems connected with mental health. Competition may correlate with stress and anxiety of people who are willing to reach the highest goals or achieve social approval. This has a massive impact on nervous system. A good example of health problem of the career person, who eagers only to be top-1 is insomnia or even emotional depression.

In conclusion, although competitive atmosphere among co-workers or students may sometimes result in mental health issues, it still has an important positive impact on people results. In my opinion, it highly competitive environment encourages people to perform their best.