A highly competitive environment is believed to be good for both studying and working. Drawing on this, what is your opinion on the benefits and drawbacks of such an environment?

Nowadays, the issue of sigificantly competitive atmosphere is one of the most topic and pressing problems among workers and students. It cannot be denied that this environment can help unconfident people to open their the strongest abilities and, in this way, be useful for highlighting people, who show real great academic or working performance in stressful cases, by employers or administrators. However, it can be negative for mental health and social conditions of employees and students.

In terms of pros, there are benefits for employers or universities’ or schools’ administrations to develop the competition among colleagues. Such atmosphere can be beneficial not only for them, but also for students or workers, who do not determine their real positive abilities. It means that competition can contribute to cases where people start to understand that they have strong enough opportunities to be best of the best in working or studying. Furthermore, it becomes easier for organistations’ leaders to choose the greatest workers or students.

As for the disadvantages, there is a risk that because of pressing competition people may get mental issues. In other words, inadequete atmosphere of competition can manifest itself to anxiety, problems with sleeping, tremor. In the future, these issues can cause more significant and serious problems such as heart disease or even suicide. Besides, social conflicts can be caused by the complex and pressing situation in school, university or work.

To sum up, there are both pluses and minuses of this environment in working or studying. On the one hand, it is the great opportunity to highlight the best workers or students and reveal their most vital abilities. On the other hand, it can contribute to the large diversity of the mental and social issues.