A highly competitive environment is believed to be good for both studying and working. Drawing on this, what is your opinion on the benefits and drawbacks of such an environment?

Atmosphere in the educational and working sphere has become the main topic of discussions. Some people believe that competition is good for studies and work, others do not. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantaged of this and provide evidence why calm environment is better.

On the one hand, some people think that competition can motivate students or employees to work harder. This type of environment will force to work more efficiently, achieve new goals and better results to stay competitive. For example, if you study with a group who always do a lot to improve their skills and get good grades, you will start to study as well as them to fit in the group. All this make a competitive environment a good source for motivation.

On the other hand, working or studying under pressure can be harmful for people’s mental health and quality of life. While being in competitive environment, people begin to experience stress, fatigue and panic. Relationships in such team getting worse as everyone tries to stand out from the crowd. For example, an employee in this environment begins to compare himself with others, he stops communicating with others and becomes anxious, his mental health decreases. As a result, this negatively impacts people’s lives.

This essay discussed advantages and disadvantages of the competitive atmosphere. In my opinion, high competition definitely has more downsides, although it can be beneficial for greater productivity, it takes a heavy toll on lives of workers or students.