A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Dp you think that the benifits of tourism outweigh it drawbacks?

In many nations, tourism plays an essential role in generating money and enhancing people’s lives. However, if this field is not thoroughly managed, it can lead to problems. In this essay, I will evaluate the advantages and disadvantages, before arguing that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, travel industry plays an essential role in bringing significant benefits to a country. First and foremost, some famous tourist destinations have attracted more travellers to visit, requiring many local hotels and shops to handle their demand. Therefore, leading to create more occupations for local people that can allow them to cover their life expenses and decrease the unemployment rate. For instance, the famous beach in Vietnam called Nha Trang, which has attracted millions of foreigners each year to take in fantastic views and enjoy delicious food, has resulted in generating more profits in the tourist field in Vietnam. Secondly, tourism can reinforce the economic growth of a country by the local government investing in the quality and service of tourism. By focusing on enhancing employees’ attitudes and providing professional services to achieve the satisfaction of international customers, it is possible to attract more investments from multinational enterprises. This increases national state revenue to foster economic development, and they can support other industries such as healthcare, education, and agriculture. In addition, when travellers access a new country, they can share their memorable experiences on social media, which inspires more visitors to have special experiences.

Conversely, carelessly managing tourism can lead to several negative problems. One major concern is environmental pollution. Because a well-known area attracted a lot of global customers, this could lead to a large amount of trash being discarded into the ocean or streets. Not only can it strongly affect the habitat of marine species, but it can also disrupt the lives of people and animals around. Another problem is that some local sellers increase the price of traditional products for foreigners. By exploiting the kind of international consumers, they increase the price 5 to 10 times higher than the original price to gain more profit. Moreover, diminishing the trust in these retailers that reduces the number of travellers coming to the country, and negative impact on national image. For instance, Hoi An is one of the most ancient cities in Vietnam, with its unique tradition and structure that influences more visitors every year. However, compared to some of unkindly local people of their attitudes and services, contributing to a drop in the rate of customers coming to this vibrant city.

In conclusion, tourism promotes job creation, cultural exchange, and economic development, but it can also have negative effects on local communities. Nevertheless, if some nations reinforce the management and monitoring in their local areas, that would be far more developed in the future.