A sedentary lifestyle is becoming common in modern society leading to various health issues

These days sedentary lifestyle is becoming one of the common problem that leading to several health impacts. There are several reasons for this problem such as cultural shift and increased use of technology and various measures could be taken by governments and individuals to improve the situation, promoting physical activity in daily life and improving urban infrastructure.

There are two main factors that have led to sedentary lifestyle. One of the major cause is cultural shift, which means leisure activities shifted from participation to physical activities, screen-based entertainment. The reason is that increasing use of technology. That means use of technology in terms of smart phones, computers. Individuals spend more time in front of screens for leisure or professional tasks. Example of this is World Health Organization shows that adults spend an average 6-8 hours due to works and digital entertainment.

There are several actions could take to solve the described above. Firstly a simple solution would be encourage simple habits including working and commute via bicycle, using stairs instead of elevator.

The second measure could be for governments improve the infrastructure, which means invest to the public places like parks and zoos also to sport facilities that support encourage outdoor activities.

To sum up, despite some obvious reasons, various measures can be taken to tackle the problem of sedentary lifestyle.