A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortages, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

Nowadays, the lack of water for daily activities is a global issue that attracts much attention from governments and societies. This matter has significant impact on citizens all over the world. There are numerous reasons for this and the solutions are various as well. In this essay, I will explore the major causes of the problem and propose some ways to tackle this shortage.

One of the main reasons for this is the increase in population. What I mean by this is that overpopulation makes the need of water rise not only for household uses but also for economy such as industry, agriculture due to large market demand. As a result, the amount of water can be not enough to meet the need of residents. The way forward might be to save the water and encourage family planning, which would reduce the water requirement.

Another cause of water shortage is pollution. In other words, environmental pollution, especially water pollution, makes the water sources become dirty and contaminated. This can affect the freshwater sources, make them unsafe for people to use. For example, pollution make the underground water resources decrease, causing lack of clear water. As a result, people may have to use water from rivers and oceans which is thrown much rubbish into. Using unclear water can cause people myriad diseases. To tackle this problem, people should protect the environment and water sources. This will allow the water more clear.