A trend in current times is the need for many workers to spend time outside of company hours answering text and e-mail messages for their jobs. What problems does this cause for the worker? What can be done to reduce the impact of these problems?

With the development of the company, many workers’ jobs have been extended by spending time on answering text and email messages beyond the office hours. Given that this norm has been a prevalent culture in most of the company. By continuing this duty it may bring consequences towards the workers directly, hence, there is a need to mitigate these issues seriously.

The main effect of working offline by answering text and email are lacking of work and personal life imbalance. This problem arises when enrolling in a huge capacity company that has no message income everyday, workers have to deal with the message by replying to each of one client. Directly affected workers have to work beyond company time and loss of time for personal life, as a result, may cause stress, anxiety and tiredness mentally and physically.

Moreover, it could adversely cause workers’ performance and productivity to become bad and could affect the company overall. One of the example is, Lazada company, which collects parcels from ASEAN countries to send to each house in Malaysia. As the incoming emails and calls are overload, many of the employee get stress and tired, which is detrimental to their health.

One of the best solution to resolve it by implement precise and unambiguous rule on working hours directly to the worker. With a clear and direct timetable of working hours and duty rotation, workers are able to have a space of time for resting. This measure is able to achieve the equilibrium of working and personal life.

In conclusion, working in non office time is totally unacceptable as the effect will impact on workers directly and affect the performance. Solutions for this will be carry out to solve out the problem. I believe that not company should pariotizes workers’ mentality and physicality in order to have a balancing work and life in future.