Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people advocate for a free access to clean water, as it is an essential physiological need for human existing. Moreover, consumption of contaminated water leads to severe infection diseases, making people suffer from extreme pain. Therefore, I am firmly convinced that this basic right should be satisfied completely without charge.

International law recognizes several primary human rights, including the main right to live, which can be ensured by matching people’s basic physiological needs, especially the need of a water supply. By providing that for every citizen, the government eliminates inequalities between low-income and richer individuals. Consequently, it contributes for overall sustainability and creates better life conditions for a vulnerable part of society. There is an obvious fact, that you will have more time and efforts for self-improvement, if you don’t spend it on seeking a clean source of water resources. For example, the UN reports show there is a straight correlation between the level of education and basic needs satisfaction, indicating there is no option to achieve a high literacy rate without stable water supply.

From a hygiene perspective, dirt water is a source of many dangerous microorganisms, threating public health. As practice shows, an increase to a clean water supply significantly decreases the number of patients with harsh diseases like cholera, which unfortunately remains a huge issue for developing countries. Moreover, it results in huge expenses on treatment, which could be easily avoided by prevention of the diseases’ spreading. Prevention has always been more pragmatical than dealing with consequences, so investments in water supply infrastructure and further developing to consumers without any payment for them will definitely improve overall health status. Consequently, it will save budget finances, allowing to spend them on another crucial issues. For instance, in India it helped to reduce the number of patients with cholera, therefore they were able to invest in farming in rural regions.

In conclusion, access to a clean water remains a pivotal problem even in the modern society. By ensuring this basic need for everyone without charge it will make a major positive impact on public health over the world and relieve a global financial crises.