Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a belief that availability of clean water is an essential human right. That is why, every household user should be provided with water which is free of charge. Although this concept can be beneficial to some extent for some people, I strongly believe it cannot be completely free.

To begin with, providing free access to clean water plays a crucial role in creating equality among people. This means that everyone can utilize water for their basic needs regardless of their income level. For example, researchers have indicated that the level of health issues such as obesity and heart diseases is far lower in cities where water is usually available compared to other developed regions where not always individuals can afford water. Therefore, the government should be responsible for giving free access to water in order to avoid discrimination among people.

In my opinion, however, offering unlimited water free of charge might not always be rewarding. In other words, water treatment, cleaning and distribution all need significant costs. Should people not be required to pay for utilization of water, they may not value it and start to use it without thinking, which eventually leads to waste of government-funding.

Instead authorities can set limited access for daily use of water, if level outperforms then there can be additional costs. Consequently, such practice can be beneficial for both the government and population.

In conclusion, while free access to water supply is a fundamental human right, I firmly support the idea of using it appropriately and setting additional costs.