Accommodation and transport problems are increasing in many large cities. Businesses are encouraged to move to rural areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the increasing problems related to accommodation and transportation in metropolitans, companies are pursued to move from urban areas to countrysides. This essay hereby aims to explore both the advantages and disadvantages of it as well as the reasons why I believe that the movements bring more benefits than drawbacks.

Admittedly, rural areas are not the ideal places for entrepreneurship because of lack of customers. Almost residents in there are old people, who are retired and don’t have much money, while young people and adults, who have salaries and high demands to buy goods as they are in the process of enhancing life qualities, often opt for living in metropolitans. As a result, moving to countryside might lead to less buyers and some companies’ finance will be affected negatively as well as they might go out of business. In a research conducted in Vietnam in 2019, 90% of businesses reported that they didn’t want to relocate to countrysides because of decrease of customers.

However, I don’t think that it is a significant problem as some companies decided to move in the past and they still became successful. VinGroup used to build various amusement parks in big cities; nevertheless, they made a decision of introducing some of them in rural areas. Surprisingly, the company attracted more customers and witnessed a skyrocket in financial reports. Moving to another areas is risk for some businesses at first, but they will diversify their types of customers and still attract loyal one.

On the other hand, accommodation and transport hurdles are concerns when businesses are in urban areas. First, a substantial number of workers and employees in the big cities leads to high demands and increased living costs. As a result, this puts high pressure on housing companies to meet the requirements. Second, transportation systems are overloaded because a lot of residents engaging in traffic. Streets are crowded and traffic congestions occur most of the time. Consequently, transportation has become a nightmare for dwellers. By the relocations of companies, fewer people will live in the cities, so it will curb the rates of people participating in traffic. In Singapore, the governments require every big companies to move to the rural areas in 2010 because their transportation facilities could not afford too much people and the change resulted in a downfall of traffic congestions and other problems related to traffic.

In conclusion, although lack of customers might be an issue for some companies, relocating big companies to countryside brings more advantages to the cities than disadvantages as it will solve housing and traffic hurdles.