According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

If we look closely at the history of evolution of our species, it is apparent that in just a few decades our life became much dependent on technological amenities and internet-based media. At this stage, it has become quite dangerous to overlook the effects of being immersed in the internet, which can greatly influence your real-life communication and interaction, and not in a good way.

-Since the start of the 21st century, the growth of the gaming industry has been rapidly accelerating. Today, the newest games are built upon algorithms set to much easier bring in more people for long periods. This and many more details considering the look, storyline, and diversity of the game make it addictive. Spending hours on end playing in the safety of our house brings inadvertent unfamiliarity when faced with real interactions.

-These kinds of algorithms are also integrated into social apps. Many popularized apps have built-in feeds that you can scroll, which is a never-ending loop of passive dopamine producers. (the main hormone to make us feel pleasure). The production of small amounts of dopamine is what makes most addictions hard to break and forget. This also shortens our attention spans and brings a feeling of social awkwardness with it, when we are out of our created comfort zone. The different feel of real-life conversations might make you nervous and uncomfortable. Indeed, the result is highly damaging to developing adolescents, who only have so much time to become fully functioning adults.

-For a final example, we can mention how being immersed in media for a long time could eventually lead to mental disabilities and hardships, like depression. Since the early ages, humans have been programmed to need real interactions with loved ones. This is also how they formed groups of friendships and familiarity. For us to not have interactions like this, could have serious physical and mental consequences, and the internet may as well be a cause of this.

-All and all, the internet has granted our populace to reach unimaginable heights and progress, but as the saying goes, nothing in extreme amounts is healthy and in turn, this affects our social and communication skills.