According to an international travel magazine, many tourists today fly straight to their holiday resort and almost never leave it. Unlike tourists in the 1960's and 70's, they return home with no experience of the local culture. Why do you think this happens? How was tourism different in the past

In an article about traveling, numerous of foreign visitors take a trip to other countries and most of them stay in hotels and never leave because nowadays people are living a hectic lifestyle and vacation is a golden opportunity for travelers to stay in a luxury resort where they can have a lot of hobbies for holiday without living in local area. There are modern and advanced facilities in hotels to attract visitors these days. People’s thoughts and traveler’s tendency were that people used to look at traveling as a social activity in the past.

There are some reasons the public want to stay in hotels during their vacation nowadays. First of all, today most people have a hectic lifestyle and they coerce to work for a long time and deal with a lot of issues in their life. So they prefer to spend their red letter day[s] where they have unique experiences and hang out with their family or friends in a relaxed atmosphere. Moreover, the other factor is, nowadays resorts are equipped with modern equipment which brings about tourists have calm and comfortable feelings. Therefore,today’s society is developed so visitors can search everythings they want to know by carrying out research on the internet such as the customs and identity of a local area without asking the help of local people.

In comparison, in the past, crowds liked to connect with local people and avoid staying in hotels.(due to the fact that there were no hotels with modern facilities and the public tended to social activity more than now). Firstly, travelers wanted to experience all aspects of life and share their wonderful time with the local community. They wanted to visit historical sites and spent useful their time in the nature or acquaint with traditional cultural diversity which there were these. Secondly, in the past, resorts could not provide all necessary services such as food and drink for tourists. As a result, they preferred going outside and enjoying local cuisine directly and taking part in new activities. Therefore, they got familiar with locals and increased their knowledge about life in that region.

In my opinion, the major factor for spending time in resorts nowadays is people are under pressure from their studies and work. So they consider traveling as a way to spend time avoiding hustle and bustle in cities and stay in a place where they have a great time and enjoy their pastime rather than spend time exploring lifestyles or tradition of local inhabitants.

In conclusion, tourism nowadays is different from in the past. Although staying in resorts throughout the period of red letter day is really relaxing and safe, visitors should spend time with local residents and discover new cultures.