According to an international travel magazine, many tourists today fly straight to their holiday resort and almost never leave it. Unlike tourists in the 1960's and 70's, they return home with no experience of the local culture. Why do you think this happens? How was tourism different in the past

Nowadays, International travel magazine states that a lot of traveler fly straight to the resort without learning about local culture and traditions rather than travelers in the 1960s and 70s. In my opinion, with the development and increase in number of tourist agencies and resorts people tends to stay at hotels.

To begin with, I would like to say that these days modern resorts offers all inclusive packages including meals, entertainment and several activities. Also, nowadays travelers can feel safer than in the past due to secured environment of a resort. In addition, these days people tend to take short vacation rather than in the past.

In the contrary, resorts in the past were less common and had less facilities than modern resorts. These resorts were often basic and people used to eat at the local restaurants. Also, in the 1960s and 70s travellers less relied on pre packing and engaged with the local way of life style. Additionally, tourists in the past were searching unique experience such as trying local’s traditional cuisine and exploring their historical landmarks. Moreover, Tourists in the past tended to participate in various local festivals and customs. Also, due to low budget of some travelers they relied on local transportation, stayed in guesthouses and ate in local restaurants.

In conclusion, I think that shift in the number of people that prefer to get acquainted with locals tradition was because modern resorts try to make them more comfortable with variety of facilities and isolate their boundaries. However, tourism in the past was more specified in exploration local’s culture and traditions.