adults nowadayd feel they can no longer communicate with children effectively. What do you think are the reasons behind this istuation? and what might be the solutions to this issue?

It is true that nowadays many adults can no longer communicate effectively with their children. There are several reasons behind this phenomenon, and parents and offspring should take steps to address it.

A recent Cornell study found that 27% of American adults are estranged from a family member.There are two main reasons associated with this phenomenon. One is that, in today’s fast-changing social, technological, and cultural environment, children are exposed to a great deal of new information, which creates differences in their experiences. Therefore, forming a different mindset between the generations of adults (Baby Boomers or Gen X) and the younger generations (Millennials, GenZ or Gen Alpha). In addition, young people nowadays are more focused on themselves compared to their parents’ generation, so they often create stricter boundaries with their families in order to protect their own feelings.

Fortunately, several solutions could be taken to strengthen the bond between family members. The first solution would be adults being an active listener toward their children.If grown-ups don’t listen properly, they risk making children, especially when they are during their teenage years feel as though their parents are brushing off their concerns and invalidating their feelings. Parents have to remember that even an offhand comment about something that happened during the day is their way of reaching out, and parents are likely to hear more if they stay open and interested but not prying. It’s normal for kids to go through some changes as they mature, but pay attention if parents notice changes to their mood, behavior, energy level, or appetite. Likewise, take note if they stop wanting to do things that used to make them happy, or if parents notice them isolating. If they see a change in their teen’s daily ability to function, ask them about it and be supportive (without being judgmental). They may need help and it could be a sign they need to talk to a mental health professional.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the difficulties when parents try to talk to their offsprings, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.