advances in science and technology and other areas of society in the last 100 years have transformed the way we live as well as postponing the day we die. There is no better time to be alive than now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

It cannot be denied that the developments in science and technology and other areas of society over the last century have improved people’s living standards. However, I strongly disagree with the view that there is no better time to be alive than now, because these advancements have also caused negative impacts on people’s mental and social well-being.

Firstly, the advancements of science and technology can have negative impacts on individuals’ development at different age. For examples, in children, they are usually exposed to digital devices from an early age without parental supervision, leading to various physical and psychological problems, such as depression, nearsightedness, and poor posture. In adults, the artificial intelligence development provides convenient ways for seeking information and solving problems quickly and efficiently, which in turn reduces people’s motivation and discourage them from making efforts in their work and studies.

Secondly, advances of technology devices can also lead to social disconnection, especially young people, which negatively affects interpersonal skills and cognitive development. For instance, when people are buried in their phones, they tend to lose awareness of their surroundings and the people around them. As a result, they gradually lose connection with their family and friends and may even lose social bonds. This can ultimately lead to social isolation, making it an increasingly common issue in modern society.

In conclusion, although there are many benefits come from advances in science and technology that have enhanced quality of life, I believe that their negative effects on people’s mental health and social well-being make the present time not the best time to be alive.