Some people think government should spent money on languages that are dying and a few number of people uses them, some think this is a waste of resources. Discuss both views and tell what's your take on this issue.

It is acknowledged that it is important for the government to spend public money on preserving minority languages. While there are understandable reasons behind such assertions, I still contend that it is not acceptable to try to prevent them from disappearing by using tax.

Admittedly, some may consider that saving minority languages is crucial. Firstly, it is beneficial for social research, especially indigenous language research. Professors or other researchers can get first-hand information more easily. Also, it can avoid making mistakes which are caused by multiple translations. Hence, if the government makes an effort to protect those languages, it becomes more efficient and accurate to obtain that information. In addition, it can improve the tourism industry. For instance, many foreigners are interested in those languages, so the authority can attract them to visit by establishing language museums. Then, foreigners will have passion for coming here to explore a lot of different cultures, which leads to better tourism benefits. Thus, preserving those languages is important for tourism development.

However, I still maintain that the authority does not need to protect minority languages by utilizing public money. To begin with, those languages are seldom utilized, because there are only a few people who can speak those languages. In Taiwan, people often speak Chinese or English in their daily lives. As a result, instead of spending public money on saving minority languages, the government should devote much money to enhancing the teaching of dominant foreign languages, helping students connect with the global community more easily. Moreover, there are lots of more emergent problems than protecting those languages that have to be solved. For example, the government should prioritize enhancing the social welfare system, solving financial hardship and offering affordable housing to reduce income inequality, decrease crime rate and narrow the wealth gap. Those issues are more crucial. Consequently, government funds should be dedicated to addressing those issues rather than dealing with minority languages.

In conclusion, some people may believe that the government has a responsibility to preserve minority languages. However, I still maintain that it is not worth spending public money on this policy.