Advantages and disadvantages of learning a new language at primary school

There is some controversy about starting to learn a new language is better for children at primary school. While it is possible to claim that learning a new language is a waste of time and effort of primary level students, my view is that the benefits are much more significant than the drawbacks. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of argument.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why learning a new language is difficult for children. One drawback is learning a new language is confusing to children. For example, while children are learning a new language, it may sometimes sound as though they are mixing or confusing two or more languages as they learn them. Another argument against teaching a foreign language early is that children enjoy little chance to use it after leaving school. For instance, most of Myanmar people speak mother language at home, therefore Myanmar children cannot communicate with non-native language to their families.

On the other hand, I would argue that learning a new language at primary school can offer great number of benefits. Firstly, young children learn faster a new language than the old adults. The brain of young ones can absorb new things quickly including a new language due to a high level of neuroplasticity. Another important benefit is that young children are less self- conscious or shy. Therefore, they don’t care making mistakes result in using a new language without any barriers.

To conclude, there are strong arguments on both sides of the case. My personal belief is that learning a new language at primary school is just as important as science or maths so it can give numerous advantages to children in their future. I suggest that learning a foreign language at primary school should be part of curriculum.