ADVANTAGES DISADVANTAGES ESSAY 1 Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is evident that the age of older people are increasing compare with the past. While there is disadvantage that population makes some problems for governments, their is advantage for society having more elderly people. I feel that the advantages of this can outweigh the disadvantages.

Some people state that older people makes problems for governments. It may be due to the financial stability of government. Since older people’s lifetime are increasing nowadays, governments should pay their retirement. As a result, it can disrupt the stability of the economy in governments. For example, because people’s lifetime are increasing compare with the past, diverse countries are obliged to pay more pension to elderly people.

While these facts may be true, there is also advantage for society having more older people. Firstly, some older people may have substantial knowledge about their past experiences and may give some advice to young generation. For example, in some universities, older teachers are brought to share their insights into young students. Moreover, in some cases, when young people cannot make a decision about significant tasks because of their lack of expertise, elderly people can solve complex situations due to their awareness.

In conclusion, I tend to believe that some advantages can outweigh the other disadvantages. However, sometimes older people cannot bring stability for society, even they can make foolish decisions which date to the past. For this reason, while they may give more information about their experinces, sometimes we can make our decisions ourselves even without more knowledge.