Advertisements are now targeting children. What will be the problems and what can be done?

In contemporary era, children are now been targeted, by advertising companies, in order to sell their products. The challenges posed by such venture, includes children pestering their parent to purchase everything on television and harmful products can be advertising too, meanwhile the solution remains the government and school authorities intervention.

On the one hand, the problem with children targeted advertisement remains the pestering experienced by parents. Since, children do not know the difference between a television programme and a commercial, they tend to assume that everything is true ans free. Furthermore, when their favourite cartoon character, such as Sofia the first is seen eating an unhealthy snack bar, which in real time can cause obesity, difficulties in breathing and even death, they become restless and would not stop until they have recieved a snack bar. In addition, children do not understand that to buy anything cost money, which is because the adverts make believe that their products are assessibe to all without a cost. For example, a recent study by Professor Shooh Carty at the University of Oxford showed children are now the highest customers in the society, which is largely due to the targeted advertisement.

On the other hand, the crucial solution to such malaise is the government and school intervention. For instance, in Spain, the government has recently banned all advertisement that features cartoon characters in them and is now endorsing only adverts that promotes kindness, friendship and honesty in children. Likewise, the school authorities should encourage critical thinking in the children, which would benefit them in the outside world to be able to differentiate a TV show from a commercial.

In conclusion, although children targeted adverts remain rampant on television and billboards around the country, its demerits equally remain conspicuous as parents continue to experience pestering from their children, even to buy harmful products. Nonetheless, the intervention of schools authority to foster critical thinking in children and the government to prohibit cartoon featured advertisement, while promoting character building adverts remain the solution for a better society.