Advertisements are now targeting children. What will be the problems and what can be done?

Promoting products through advertisements is normalized and has always been so. However, some people think that a massive number of ads are produced for youngsters only and it might have unwanted consequences. In my case, I disagree with the statement that banning ads would be helpful in any way, rather it would lead to severe outcomes such as lack of awareness about social issues and also cause mass unemployment.

On the one hand, many promotional ads advocate for social dilemmas. Firstly, creativity in such short advertisements can add a deeper meaning to them than just bringing money. For example, during the time of COVID-19, many people learned how to adapt to the peculiar situation by ads which projected beneficial information. How to wash our hands properly after social interactions, for instance, saved and protected many lives from a lethal virus. From a survey conducted by BRAC, Bangladesh indicates that 90% of village residents know about dangerous issues, namely early marriage, financial scramming, scamming through voice calls, etc. through ads on television.

Additionally, advertisement has its own industry and uncountable employees. Therefore, cancelling the whole concept of ads would lead to unforeseen consequences. Since many workers would be fired, it would become a crisis. For instance, in Japan, the advertisement sector is blooming, improving the lifestyles of millions of workers and providing them with opportunities towards career advancement. Subsequently, it can be imagined how banning will affect a whole group of individuals and the economical stance of the country.

In conclusion, I beg to differ with the statement that ads should be banned due to the negative impact. I firmly believe that the advantages outweighs the setbacks. Furthermore, lack of knowledge about social problems and unemployment crisis are not problems that can be easily tackled down.