Advertising encourages customers to buy in quantity not in quality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast-paced world, where consumerism is prevalent, advertisiments are thought to incentivize people to purchase items quantitatively rather than qualitatively. While the main purpose of advertisements is to persuade people to obtain items by showcasing their positive and unique traits, I firmly believe that advertising is an economic incentive for individuals to buy products in large quantities. Therefore, I agree with the provided statement.

First and foremost, the discount culture of advertising is a key to the allure of acquiring things in quantity. To provide further explanation, not only do discounts make products more economically appealing, but they also offer multi-item deals, consequently motivating people to get the best value for their money, irrespective of the quality of a product. For instance, soda manufacturing companies, such as Coca Cola and Pepsi, promote their products through multi-item deals—a way to convince individuals to purchase several items just to get an additional one for free.

Secondly, advertisements create the artificial demand for products. To clarify, a lot of advertising companies focus on creating the artificial demand, which deceives people into fulfilling their needs by consuming products in large quantities although they do not need this. To illustrate, phone manufacturing companies—Apple, Samsung, and OnePlus—promote new models of mobile phones to create the artificial demand by showcasing new functions and features that do not differ significantly from predecessors.

In conclusion, while advertising is designed to showcase the quality of a product, I contend that it motivates people to consume services and items through the discout culture and the aritificial demand, thereby encouraging to buy them in quantity.