Advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Advertising is something that we frequently come across even without searching for it. Many people wonder if advertisements bring us positive or harmful effects. This issue will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

On one hand, some people believe that advertisements is benefiting human because they do us a favour on selecting the most suitable products for our needs. For instance, when choosing new furniture for your new home, you will look at the advertisements of the according items to see those items include the functions that suit the best for you. Customers can go directly to the stores after deciding on what to buy. Therefore, it takes less time for customers on getting the perfect products.

On the other hand, advertisements have its downside. Firstly, advertisements contribute to impulse purchasing. When it comes to designing an advertisement, companies usually put-up phrases that indicates that certain products will be sold out soon, so as to encourage consumers to buy their desired products immediately. In most cases, people will purchase these ‘desired’ products without considering if there are enough storage spaces at home. Under this situation, people have to get rid of the previous, still usable ones for the newly purchased one. As the result, much unnecessary waste is produced due to the influence of advertising.

In conclusion, advertisement bring us both positive and harmful effects. However, the negative one is stronger. Even though advertisements may benefit us with some convenience, they encourage impulse purchasing and therefore leads to unnecessary wastes.