AI and it's potential - is it good or bad?

AI, or artificial intelligence, has been rapidly advancing as time passes by. People are debating whether it helps them or does it do the exact opposite. As a student, I believe AI does help in some ways, but we have to use it wisely or you’ll face consequences.

Exceptionally, AI assists students to understand schoolwork better. Some websites, such as TurboAI or WhiteboardAI, allow students to upload their documents, and a summary will be automatically generated for them. On top of that, students can highlight parts and ask the AI about them—to explain sections that are difficult to understand. I am a user of TurboAI myself, and I can vouch that it aids me in understanding biology better.

However, some people take advantage of AI and use it incautiously. AI are supposed to comprehend the big words, not solve equations or generate essays for you. By doing so, it makes your brain lazy. Your brain might think, “Oh, I don’t have to solve this equation; AI can do it for me.” And one day, when you face more extreme hardships and AI is not on your side, you’d not know what to do and eventually receive unexpected results in the end. I’ve seen someone online using ChatGPT to do their SAT questions, thinking it would give them a perfect score. It turns out AI only gives them a score of 600, which is far from the maximum score.

In conclusion, AI has the potential to benefit students by giving explanations on parts that are hard to understand, but it could create more challenges by setting a bad mindset you shouldn’t follow. While AI can be good for assignments, you should also use it mindfully.