Algorithms increasingly control what people see online. What problems can this cause? What solutions can be implemented?

The rising control of what people see on social media is dictated by algoritms. I strongly believe that it is algori transparency which can be used to overcome digital addiction.

The primary problem with these invisible formulas is that they prioritize engagement over truth and well-being. What really making the digital addiction more stronger is the not only attractiveness, but also entertainment which it provides. The ‘filter bubble’ is being used by social network in order to hold the attention of audience. As an example, the most popular app ‘TikTok’ always adjusts to the mood of user by showing the similar videos that have already been liked. The trend of using the method called ‘filter bubble’ by other social medias and enhancing the attractiveness can result in the lose of track of time.

To mitigate this issue, the implementation of algorithmic transparency is essential. In world of technology almost in every mobile phone there is fuction ‘pariential control’, by using it the time spent on social networks can be controlled. In addition, the government also has the power to regulate these invisible formulas of social media by imposing their conditions under which they can continue their work. As the best example, China has introduced regulations that force tech companies to allow users to switch off recommendation algorithms entirely. As a result, this gives individuals the power to control the content that they consume.

In conclusion, although the content that people consume mostly dictated by algorithms, this trend does not have to result in pernament addiction. I firmly believe that by ensuring algorithmic transparency and giving users more control, we can effectively combat with digital addiction.