More and more people are relying on the private car as their major of transportation.Describe some of the problems overreliance on cars can cause,and suggest at least one possible solution

Technological advancements have had a demonstrable effect on modern society, especially with regards to an increasing use of private vehicles. As the production cost of cars has had reduce significantly, cars are more accessible by a wider range of citizens, leading to several problems in society which this essay will explore in addition to their possible solutions.

A rising number of private vehicles on road had let to many problems. Foremost among these is traffic congestion which can easily occur when their is a large number of cars on highways. According to the BBC news, the average commuting time for office workers in Bangkok is about one and a half hours per day due to the fact that they usually get stuck in the traffic jam in the evening. Without wasting this unproductive time, people can do more leisure activities or even spend more time with their family. In addition, due to the fact that most private cars are run on fossil fuel, they release carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, causing pollution in cities. These vehicles not only used up the world’s natural resources which is limited, but also contribute to global warming which might result in rise in sea level.

However, there are clear solutions for this problem, should governments be willing to follow them. By rising taxes of cars, government not only encourage residents to use alternative ways of communication but also able to collect more taxes. This additional money can be allocated to the development of public transport such as sky train and subway in order to attract more people to use them and move away from private cars. Government can also raise awareness of individuals by improving education about global warming and its effects. With the knowledge of conservation more and more people might turn to use alternative methods of transportation.

In conclusion, although the myriad of problems that result from people becoming over reliant on private vehicle are apparent, these are problem with clear solutions, should governments want to try them. In my opinion, if people continue to use private cars as their main way of transportation without considering about the environmental impacts, the repercussions on both the natural world and society are going to be long-lasting and disastrous.