All high school students should be encourage to take part in community service programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The question whether high school students would benefit or suffer from volunteering in their communities is an ongoing debate. I firmly believe that doing unpaid work is helpful for students, especially for those who apply for abroad universities. This essay is intended to explore advantages of contributing to community.

First of all, volunteer work is an essential component of every portfolio to university. Unpaid labour demonstrates teenager’s willingness to help people, even though they take nothing in exchange. For instance, some choose to teach children with disabilities for free, or to donate blood to hospital. Moreover, it illustrates an applicant’s ability to work in team and collaborate with others. Sometimes, you even demonstrate leadership skills through voluntary work. All of qualities stated above are highly regarded in top-tier universities.

Additionally, unpaid work teaches valuable life lessons. It can change your perspective on life. Helping out financially struggling families and feeding homeless increases sense of sympathy, empathy, and support. Besides, you have opportunity to find out how to care of people, communicate with them and find consensus. Findings of study regarding impact of unpaid community work on teenagers’ personality traits show that high schoolers transform into kinder and more mature of themselves when contribute to society for free. Most people live in limited communities and, consequently, don’t realise problems of a real world. Volunteering broadens horizons and opens eyes of teenagers.

In summary, I agree with advocates for high school students’ participation in community work. Unpaid labour is necessary for college applications due to its high value among universities, while also providing teenagers with life skills and new perception of life.