All large companies should provide sports and social facilities to the local community. To what exten do you agree or disagree with this statement

Opinions are divided on the idea that all large businesses should cater to sports and social facilities for the local society. In this essay, however, I will challenge this school of thought, as this duty should not fall on these companies’ shoulders.

Granted, one might argue that providing sports centres and community services can improve the companies’ image and directly benefit the citizens. Take, for example, Tran Anh Group, which is a big corporation in Vietnam , has built a coastal residential area in Tan An city; added to this fact is that it also provides a wide range of sports machines for free, so that a large number of people have done exercises every morning to improve their health for no charge, and hence the houses’ purchasing rate has also correspondingly increased. However, such initiatives are only plausible when the companies’ funds are prosperous enough to invest in the community services without struggling with any financial burden.

To add further credence to my assertion, the responsibility of providing sports and social infrastructures should be taken by the government. This is predicated on the fact that the huge amount of taxation is owned by the government, so that it must be in charge of the provision of these facilities. Admittedly, however big the companies are, they still need to allocate their capital to several aspects to endure their development such as the workers’ salary or the upgradation of their buildings so that such investment in amenities for local community could be regarded as an obstacle if these organizations focused on the local society. Thus, such welfare for the community is not the concern of big businesses.

In conclusion, while the resources from all big businesses alloted to sports and social facilities are advantageous to advocate local people’s lives and highly profitable for the companies’ budgets, it should not be an obligation for the businesses but for the government, so that companies can fully concentrate on their business growth.