All natural resources are limited, it is therefore important that all companies make products that can be used for many years. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Such abundant natural resources are needed to serve human demands over time. Some argue that all corporations have to create long-term products due to the finite natural resources. However, I disagree with this statement, because it is not the most suitable and optimal way, regarding profitability, enhancing product quality, and appearing renewable resources.

It is understandable why some people believe long-term production helps humans save natural resources. The process of making items requires massive amounts of resources found in nature which can be exhausted in the future. For example, it needs a huge of limited resources such as fuel, electricity, and fabric for several periods to finish perfect clothes that customers can use. Additionally, products with long shelf life help consumers save money when purchasing new items to replace old and broken ones. However, this perspective does not account for some reasons, such as fashion and profitability.

I firmly believe that producing long-term items is not the most suitable and optimal way to limit using all natural resources. Firstly, producing products regularly helps companies find the weaknesses in items and improve them. Secondly, concentrating on the age of products can hamper the business’s profitability. Reduced sales due to the less frequent replacements lead to the unprofitability of the product line. Moreover, customers are going to feel compelled to use outdated products, even when more affordable and superior alternatives exist.

Above all, with the development of technology and high awareness in people in protecting the environment, renewable resources, such as solar energy and wind energy, can be produced to be applied and used more in daily life and in many large enterprises.

In conclusion, while some people believe all corporations have to create long-term products due to the finite natural resources, I believe it is not the most suitable and optimal way, regarding profitability, enhancing product quality, and appearing renewable resources.