All over the world, people watch foreign film much more than locally produced films. Why? Should the government provide financial support to local film industries?

In this day and age, the number of viewers prefer watching dubbed or subtitled movies rather than those in their mother tongue. There are several reasons why domestic films are not popular and some measures to improve this situation.

First and foremost, watching foreign films can help the audiences develop their social skills, especially English. The large number of teenagers tend to study abroad and English is the popular language that can look up to vocabulary for communication everywhere; in other words, English is a necessary language for anyone for any purpose. It is beneficial, so watching another language helps us update many skills, namely listening, reading, writing by the vocabulary when learnt through the films. Beside that, people have a habit of looking for new things or things that are trendy. A lot of movies in other countries have different genres and meanings, but in general, they all have unique editing styles, use impressive techniques that attract viewers more than inland movies. Most of them are popular movies with many parts – Harry Poters, so they have a certain number of followers and they are increasing due to the reviews and recommendations of previous people.

By this way, the government should provide financial support to local films. Once the films can develop and reach out to the world, the country’s economic resources will also increase significantly. Furthermore, we will receive attention and cooperation between countries through film projects and from there improve further. Moreover, supporting the money to upgrade the quality of filmmaking also leads to us having the opportunity to receive major awards, as well as being more highly regarded in the field of filmmaking – creating a unique mark for the country in the field of cinema. For example, when mentioning Chinese movies, people often remember palace fighting or youth romance, Korean is romantic comedy or family, and so on.

To sum up, foreign movies have become popular nowadays and give several benefits for societies. Despite this situation, Authorities can tackle some problems like funding a lot of money, creating a policy and law enforcement for growing locally produced films.