All over the world, people watch foreign film much more than locally produced films. Why? Should the government provide financial support to local film industries?

Nowadays, there is a common issue of people, especially in developing countries, who prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. This essay will delve into the reason and solutions can be taken to tackle this case.

To begin with, various issues can be the background of this issue, first and foremost is the quality of local films is not equal to international film. Local movies generally are made without considering aspects such as the actors’ selection, quality of sound, picture, and special effects. Local film is considered too monotone and has no development. For instance, in Indonesia lately, there was a common debate about a movie called “a business proposal” which was a remake from K-drama. There are too many remake movies in Indonesia, so they do not provide new colours for Indonesia’s film industries. Moreover, the casting choices feel reckless. Another example is that many Indonesian movies rely on “based on true story” and generally horror movies which are really boring for Indonesians people. The story is also monotone and has a bad quality of editing and sound, the editing seems unreal. Meanwhile, International movies are aware of their cast and an incredible edit like marvel’s movie.

To tackle this issue, I firmly believe that the government should participate to support local films. Funding from the governments could help talented amateur film-makers to produce world-class movies. To compete with overseas movies, talented producers only need high technology to create awesome movies and hire talented crews. Furthermore, the governments should provide scholarships for actors and actresses to study abroad, and learn more about acting. As a result of this, all actors and actresses will develop their acting skills. The collaboration of good actresses and high quality of the movie make local movies compete with international movies.

In conclusion, instead of watching locally produced films, citizens prefer to watch international movies because of the differences between the quality (actors,sound,picture). Government could respond to this issue with financial funding for the producers and the actors.